Who killed the electric car?

For some strange reason, I thought there were no electric vehicles (EVs) on the market. Boy, was I wrong.

Meet my new vehicle, the Tesla Roadster. 100% electric. 135 mpg equivalent (220 miles per charge). And 0-60 in 3.9 seconds.

Now with a base price of only $109,000!

Gulp.

This thing is so sweet, though. And it’s electric (boogy oogy oogy). Well, if I can’t have a car that is more than my entire net worth, perhaps I can get one of these beauties (though they really aren’t a replacement for my car). I’ll just keep my fingers crossed for the $30,000 Tesla model slated to enter the marketplace in 2010.

2 thoughts on “Who killed the electric car?

  1. Anonymous says:

    Why would any sane person buy a car that can’t go anywhere? Greenwashing Mr Musk will find any destination over 90 miles away a very iffy proposition. Guesswrong and it’s towrtuck time. Buy a Chevy Volt and actually make a difference – it can eliminate vurtually all gasoline usase by passenger cars all by itself, won’t cost a fortune,has batteries that last over 10 years (not the 5 years of the $25,000 Tesla battery pack) and can take you anywhere you want.
    That $30,000 Tesla sedan is a mirage – the batteries alone will cost over $25,000. And last no more than 5 years. Tesla wil never build a car costing less than $50,000 and that for a “can’t do”
    battery-only electric. What a total fraud.

  2. Christine says:

    The chevy volt does look awesome. im not actually in the market for a car now. just thought the tesla looked cool, lol.

Comments are closed.