My Not So Amazing Callbacks

What’s new, Buenos Aires?  Well, apparently not me.  Ah, the glamorous life of a Hollywood actor… stuck on the 405 freeway.

Backing up.  I had two callbacks yesterday.  One was for Coca-Cola Light (European name of Diet Coke), shooting in Buenos Aires.  The callback was located in Santa Monica, and I was scheduled for 11:15.  I then received another callback for alibaba.com, the audition located in Sherman Oaks.  That was 11:30.

Even if I could fly, I wouldn’t make both.

So, I rescheduled the second audition, and I left the apartment at 10:15, arriving at the Santa Monica studio early.  And then, I waited.

And waited.

And waited.

At that point, I realized that I needed to leave for the other callback and then return.  I informed the casting director, and then I got my butt outta there (20 minutes to and fro without any traffic, not to mention the actual audition, left me little time to get back).

So, I hightailed it up the 405.  About 2 miles from the 101, I noticed that my car was making a strange noise.  And then, it starting vibrating a little.

And then a little more.

And then it was shaking violently.

I had a blow-out.  Obvs.  I tried to make it off the highway, but my car was becoming hard to control.  So, I began pulling over to the shoulder, and then *pop;* my tire burst in a cloud of gray smoke.  It was shredded.  And I was stuck on the shoulder with cars whizzing by.  The excellence of Los Angeles drivers, I tell ya.

25 minutes later, the AAA guy arrived, and lickety-split, he got the spare on.  I made it to the alibaba.com callback (the wonderful casting director was so understanding), and then I went to Just Tires who set me up with 2 new tires in less than 30 minutes.

Then I went home and decompressed.  I never did make it back to the left coast for Coca-Cola Light.  But it’s probably better that I didn’t jet off for a week in Argentina right before my wedding.  Still, I wouldn’t have minded the free trip… or the money.

