100 Songs of the 00s (80 – 71)

It’s the end of the decade. Hallelujah! But as bad as the aughts were politically, they were COMPLETELY AWESOME musically. And I’m counting down the top 100 songs of the 00s. Difficulty: No artist can be mentioned more than once. Impossible? No. But pretty darn difficult.

Sad girls dominate 80 – 71, but there are some dance songs to make you “feel good.”

80. The Shining – Badly Drawn Boy 2000

I think this is the only song on the list to feature a french horn. Lush but accessible.

 

79. Worn Me Down – Rachael Yamagata 2007

A plea from a woman who’s given and given, and it’s still not enough. Rachael’s voice is pure, silky dark chocolate.

 

78. Almost Lover – A Fine Frenzy 2008

Another screwed-over woman.  Dang, where’s Tina Turner when you need her? In all seriousness, I love wailing out this melody. Gorgeous.

 

77. You Said Something – PJ Harvey 2000

Sometimes a simple sentence can change your life.  After all these years, PJ still brings her woman power, distinct vocals, and then some.

 

76. Feel Good, Inc. – Gorillaz 2005

It ain’t just a clever name, blokes.  You really do feel good after hearing this song by a group of cartoon characters (including the voice of Damon Albarn).

 

75. The Step and the Walk – The Duke Spirit 2008

Find your joy, joy, joy in the rain with this strong-voiced female powerhouse.

 

74. In the Walls – Stellastarr* 2003

I simply drool over the modern bass of Sean Christensen’s voice as he booms, “It took a while for me to know I am not alone.”  (Seriously, yo, I crank dat. Don’t be fooled by the soft start.)  “My Coco” from the same album also rocks.

 

73. Chasing Pavements – Adele 2008

Man, another chick goes wacky over some dude. You might ask, where’s her brain (he doesn’t like you!), but the retro-tinged voice of Adele (love those English vocalists) hits you square in the heart. And I’ll tell you what, I’ll keep chasing the pavements of my dreams until I fall down. Believe that.

 

72. No One Knows – Queens of the Stone Age 2002

This one’s all about the beat.  One of my favorites to play on Guitar Hero (apropos of nothing, but I thought I’d share).

 

71. Young Folks – Peter Bjorn and John 2006

Whistle me a tune, Peter Bjorn and John.  I just wished they hadn’t overplayed you.

 

Check back for 70 – 61.

See:

