You Gotta Do What You Gotta Do

People wonder, “What does it take to be a professional actor in the tough business of Hollywood?” It takes guts. Determination. And the ability to not care if you make a durn fool of yuhself.

Case in point. I was waiting to audition for an online dating spot. In the script, my character (“single woman”) was supposed to laugh and then accidentally snort. Snort? How hard could that be? But I started to worry. Could I snort realistically? Could I snort at all?

I didn’t want my first snort to be in the audition room. And I didn’t want to leave the waiting area because I was next to be called. So, I did what any normal person would do. I snorted. Loudly. In a roomful of people. Of course.

Everyone looked up, startled. I smiled apologetically. “I have to snort, and I just wanted to make sure I could do it.”

Raucous laughter. Suddenly, I was the bell of the ball. The snorting ball.

