To the Acting Gods…

I’m not a usually a praying man. Heck, last time I prayed was ’78, wanted a sweet yella Camaro from Rawley’s Auto… but that’s neither here nor there. The thing is, I been acting for a while. Sowing the seeds of art, if you will, but dang it… the land’s been dry for the past year. And I got kids to feed, my mother-in-law to support… (She can’t wait tables no more, ‘count of the bursitis in her shoulder.) And my horse Becky? Well, she done need an operation on her leg; poor girl got a limp the size of Kansas… By gum, I don’t want to take her to the glue factory! So, God (or Gods, I don’t want to offend nobody), can ya see it in your heart (or whatever Gods done got) to get me a job? It don’t need to be fancy. Maybe a herpes commercial or doing a live event in Vegas… I’ll work real hard.  Shucks, I’ll work my blasted tail off.  Oops!  Sorry for the cuss word.  Anyway, thanks. Oh, and Amen.

