So Funny I Forgot to Laugh

I was watching a short interview with author Jen Lancaster that some Barnes & Noble lackey conducted when the interviewer asked the following question (paraphrased):

“Do you consider your work chick lit? I mean, it’s so funny…”

Ah yes, that old saw. The bane of my existence. The rain on my wedding day. The ranch dressing in my hot fudge sundae (thanks a lot, Ruby Tuesday’s!)

Women aren’t funny. Why does this stereotype linger on so… like the dishes I leave in the sink for my husband to wash (yay, feminism!)?

Of course, in this day and age, even the staunchest chauvinist has to admit that women like Sarah Silverman, Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Whitney Cummings (OK, not Whitney) are outright hilarious. But many people don’t extrapolate that into saying that women as a whole can be funny. Instead, comediennes like those above are rare specimens that somehow transcend their gender to actually (gasp!) make a male laugh.

It’s like my (ex)friend who said to me, “I hate hanging out with girls. You’re different, though,” as if I was to get down on my knees and kiss his feet for allowing me into his holy male inner sanctum.

Instead I answered, “Too bad you’re gay. You’d have made the perfect wife beater.”

Turns out, he was the one with no sense of humor.

